Mostly Completely Sunny: The Wedding Day

“But friendship is precious,

not only in the shade,

 but in the sunshine of life,

and thanks to a benevolent arrangement

the greater part of life is sunshine.”

- Thomas Jefferson

    I walked around the quiet streets of Nashville this morning all alone. It was a peaceful place and time, and I could not help but look around and want to say to every person, every slick glass building, every  cobblestone beneath my feet “thank you, thank you, thank you”.

     When Tom gave me his seal of approval (which looks like a shrug and sounds like a mumble) to let ramblings readers plan our wedding  day, neither of us could have expected the outcome. You ramblers had yet to cast your votes, of course! Much more than the polls, the fun feature posts, more than the creativity you spilled into the comments section every week for a year, even more than the wild enthusiasm you’d channel to argue the most important aspects of this Bloggy Wedding (To bee hive or not to bee hive?), I was struck with awe at the universal theme that ran in and out of posts into responses flowing under and over weeks and landing signed, sealed, and delivered in a tiny PO Box in a tiny Tennessee town. It became clear that no matter the type of wedding detail I threw your way your response always boiled down to one very simple thing: love.

    The idea to let a couple of thousand strangers decide the look and vibe of our day struck most we met as crazy. But we knew better. You never were strangers, were you? The motivation for such an out-of-the-box approach to wedding planning came from hurt. Tom and I have struggled over the last year to feel supported or celebrated by a few we considered closest to us. Before the bitter taste of their behavior could settle in our mouths, you guys washed the slate clean, swooped in and refreshed our plans to forge ahead and plan a wedding. You put the joy back in what should be the most joyous occasion.

    So today this baby mama blogger will become a wife. The budget was small. The guest count will be smaller. The gratitude we feel for each and every one of you could only be summed up as magnificient. Thank you, thank you, thank you for giving us this day.

46 thoughts on “Mostly Completely Sunny: The Wedding Day

  1. Bless you both and may you always feel loved and supported by each other and the community, wherever and whatever form it comes in, during your life together.

  2. You’re a complete delight and easy to love! (through the internet….Tom probably has more to say about Living with you in real life) Have a wonderful special day Tori! You’ve brought a lot of refreshing guidance through your blog to me and to many others I’m sure. You remind me it’s always right to be exactly who you are. Rock on pretty rock star. Much love to you and yours!

  3. I wish you all the joy this day can bring. May it be filled with love and laughter, and lead to a life even more wonderful than you can imagine. I can’t wait for the bloggy wedding update.
    <3 <3 <3 Lisa

  4. I’m lost for words Tori. You are in my thoughts and I send you all my love for the beautiful day that lies ahead. So blessed to share in it with yu through the bloggy world. xox

  5. Although the record indicates he treated them benevolently, I doubt the greater part of life was sunshine for Jefferson’s slaves. Twice divorced it was written that marriage was not in the cards for me and so I really do offer a heartfelt best wishes for this new course in your life. A happy marriage of mutual nourishment has become a rare thing these days. I am content though through kids and grandkids so I got most of the benefits.

  6. Sorry to be late to the party, but I want PICTURES PICTURES PICTURES. You and Tom are going to have a fantastic life, because I know – I just know – that you are fantastic people. I hope this day was everything you wanted it to be, the easy kind of perfect that happens when we just let go. xo to you both.

    PS I wore my Nashville hoodie all day today in honor of your wedding.

  7. Tori & Tom, yesterday was wonderful. Your love for each other came through for all to see. I was so honored to be a part of your very special day. Again I wish you both, love, joy and happiness.

  8. That’s the funny thing about love: it comes at mysterious times from unlikely places – I’m so happy that today, of all days, you are feeling the love and may you continue to do so for years to come.
    Wishing you and Tom the very best!

  9. I hope you had a gangsta wedding my dear Tori! Send my congrats to the Dude as well for locking it down. Ok, those two lines were terribly juvenile. In truth, while we have never met, I firmly believe you are one of two or three funniest, coolest, most awesomest people to get married in Nashville on Saturday.

    Ok, last try, this one is for real.

    Congratulations to you and Tom. May the memories of your wedding day remind you that while life may throw twists and turns your way, love really does trump all. I hope it was as magical as you always dreamed it would be, and that every day forward adds to already fabulous life you have built together. There, how was that?

  10. Congratulations!!! You know we can’t wait to hear all about it, and dang, I wish I’d been around for the planning stages, but I know you were in good hands! :)

  11. Huzzah! Can’t wait to see and hear all about your big day. I was thinking about you and Tom on Saturday (as I strutted my selling stuff on the Harbour)– I hope everything was magical!

  12. After reading your wedding correspondent’s official report, I have to say it looks like the whole shebang went off without a hitch and turned out quite beautifully. Congratulations, Mrs. Tom!

  13. I love this! I came to your blog from Kathy’s. The photos were exquisite and I so love your outside the box approach to wedding planning. It looks like you all had a cozy day filled with love, friends and bliss. Your wedding photos and story reminds me of how small and connected our world is. Thank you. Congratulations and I wish you both many happily ever afters and that you always keep falling madly and deeply in love with one another.

    Here is a song gift to you via youtube (to get to the actual song fastforward about 50 seconds):

  14. Aww I’m kinda upset. I just stumbled upon your blog today and it seems the wedding is over! I wish I would have been a reader beforehand as I know I would have had some good sugestions, but congrats! I hope everything turned out wonderful for you and have now started to follow your ramblings so will keep updated with what you do! xoxo, andrea

  15. This was the coolest thing ever! I’m so glad that I have been able to read about your Very Bloggy wedding — not quite from the start, but for a good bit! I am thrilled that your day went off smoothly. (It did, right?) And I love that you are honeymooning in a place that provides complimentary sweatpants. Have a most wonderful, wonderful life together. Oh, and please give us a Very Bloggy Honeymoon. Like play-by-play. ;-)

  16. Tori — CONGRATULATIONS! :) I am so happy for you and your beautiful family. What a perfect ending to your fairybloggy wedding. This line was simply lovely, “But we knew better. You never were strangers, were you?”

    • Thanks so much, Melissa! I can’t wait to share the details and pictures with you guys. Every vote really counted and turned into such a quirky and perfect little day!

  17. I am SO happy for you! CONGRATULATIONS, indeed!
    I hope you had a truly wonderful day – and here’s to many, many happy years to come (and all that good stuff)! Wishing you guys the absolute best!!! :)

  18. Pingback: Why Blogging Is Like Dating & I’m The Crazy Girlfriend You Never Wanted « the ramblings

Ramble on, little rambler...

